Archbishop Max Gandolf von Khuenburg (1668-1687)
Klicken um Bild zu vergrößern

What would Salzburg be without us?

 

The prince archbishops summon the leading architects, painters and musicians to Salzburg, giving the city its resplendent appearance and encouraging art and culture.

The history of baroque Salzburg starts in 1587 with Prince Archbishop Wolf Dietrich von Raitenau. The Neue Residenz – the new residential palace –, the location of this room, is one of his first new building projects. Hence his coat of arms adorns the centre of the splendid timber ceiling. Portraits of his successors line the walls, from Markus Sittikus to the last reigning prince archbishop, Hieronymus Graf Colloredo.

Churches, castles, palaces, gardens and numerous coats of arms in stone bear enduring witness to their activities in the city and Land of Salzburg. In foreign policy, they seek to align themselves in a neutral position between Austria and Bavaria; within the empire, they claim the prerogative of premier rank among the princes and bishops.

 

Princely Coins and Medals

The prince archbishops mint coins with their effigies and coats of arms to be circulated as currency. They also have special coins and medals minted for major events and anniversaries, such as their own election, appointment as cardinal, the founding of the university, the consecration of the cathedral – symbols of their power and status. 

The most important coins and medals are exhibited for each archbishop from Markus Sittikus von Hohenems (1612-1619) to Hieronymus Colloredo (1772-1803). In the picture: the medal for the cathedral consecration in 1628.
Klicken um Bild zu vergrößern
Visit us on Facebook