Reconstruction of the Romanesque cathedral (by Guido Friedl)
Zum Vergrößern ins Bild klickenKlicken um Bild zu vergrößern
Klicken um Bild zu vergrößern
Klicken um Bild zu vergrößern

Cathedral Excavations Museum | Residenzplatz

 

The Cathedral Excavations Museum under the Residenz- and Domplatz provides a view into building activities occurring since Roman times in the area of the present cathedral.

 

Roman Villa

A particularly impressive part of the show includes finds excavated from a Roman villa; archaeologists unearthed mosaics, wall sections, sewers, small objects, and a hypocaust system.

 

Foundations of the Romanesque Cathedral

Visitors can also see the foundations and above-ground wall sections of the west towers of the Romanesque cathedral extended in the late twelfth century under Archbishop Konrad III. Archbishop Wolf Dietrich (1587–1612) had this building demolished after a fire (1598). The present early baroque cathedral was consecrated in 1629.

 

Residenzplatz | Dombogen
Tel.: +43-662-84 52 95 (July and August only)
or +43-662-62 08 08-131
Fax: +43-662-62 08 08-120
Curator: Dr. Wilfried Kovacsovics

 

Opening times
July and August daily 9 am - 5 pm

For appointments outside these hours, please call tel. +43-662-62 08 08-131

 

AdmissionEuro
Adults2,50

 

Reduced2,00

 

Young people

1,50

 

Children(aged 6 to 15)

1,00

 

Families5,00

 

Salzburg Card

valid

 

Visit us on Facebook